Always Proofread

I was reading reviews on Amazon today of a DVD of the Marriage of Figaro (if anyone cares, it’s the Harnoncourt / Guth one with Anna Netrebko and some freakish staging/directorial decisions*) and came across the statement that in act one, Figaro finds a dead cow on the floor and tosses it out of the window, which statement was followed by the observation that this did not bode well for the opera.

Well, no, probably not.

(I think the writer meant “crow”.)

*including a version of “venite, inginocciatevi” in which Susanna, the Countess and Cherubino all end up rolling around together on a rug on the floor, which, oddly enough, comes across as much less appealing than you would think.

2 thoughts on “Always Proofread

  1. is this the 2006 salzburg one? i searched up and down your tag and coulnd’t find it, surely you have talked about it many times? i quite slow but finally got around to it, never mind the amazing cast, i LOOOVE Harnoncourt’s conducting!! LOOOOVE. can’t believe it has taken me that long to get around to this opera (and dove sono…) fully (harteros seems to be the push this time…) . i know one of these days i’d get around to all the mozart stuff you cover here.

    Like

    1. Yep, this is the 2006 Salzburg one – I’ve mentioned it a lot, but I don’t think I’ve ever actually sat down and written about the whole thing! Maybe I should – a project for when I get home after break. I didn’t like the staging when I first saw it but it’s grown on me a lot since then.

      Like

Leave a comment

