This has been bothering me for days

Because I operate through an inspired combination of obsessiveness and free association, I have not stopped thinking about Don Carlos. Something was telling me that there was a connection between Elisabeth’s aria Non pianger, mia companga and, of all things, the 1971 movie of Roald Dahl’s book Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. I spent more time than I should probably admit trying to figure out why on earth I was thinking this, but it turns out there is a reason. If you listen to the introduction to the aria, the little pattern right before the vocal part comes in is very similar to the music in this scene beginning at about 0.23. The tones are in a different order, but they totally stole that from Verdi.

Leave a comment

