Not the word I would have chosen

There is a little excerpt here of a reviewer discussing Dorothea Röschmann’s performance style, and the phrase the reviewer uses is “feral force.” I get what the point of the description is, i.e. that Röschmann is unaffected and intense, and this seems to me an entirely reasonable thing to say, but – feral?

However. The idea of feral opera singers is sort of intriguing, no? If there was a city, say, that had a large population of feral opera singers this would definitely imply something about the status of arts funding. I do not know what it would imply and I am not sure how far I actually want to pursue this idea, but somewhere in there I believe we would find an argument for the National Endowment for the Arts.

Leave a comment

