Weekend 2-11-12

Some fun things landed on my doorstep this week, including this CD by Vivica Genaux with the Akademie für Alte Musik and this one of Joyce DiDonato’s.

I have been thinking so much about the relationship between text and music recently that I should probably watch the DVD of Capriccio that has been on my pile for about six weeks. On the other hand, the library coughed up this DVD of Der Rosenkavalier that I’ve been meaning to watch for ages. It’s from the Zurich opera in 2004, with Kasarova, Hartelius and Stemme in the three main roles. This DVD was actually due back yesterday, so I should probably watch it sooner rather than later, before they send the unmarked van after me. Although I have kept interlibrary loan items for the odd extra . . . ah, week, once or twice before, and received nothing worse than some very patient reminders.

Academics: abusing library privileges since the existence of libraries.

Leave a comment

