Things that are better than reading seventeenth-century pamphlets about altar rails, #8994559321: Beethoven’s Op. 9 string trios

I was whiling away part of my afternoon (I do have a job, I swear) listening to various broadcasts of concerts available from the Schwetzinger festival – if you haven’t already, take a listen to the Zimmermann Trio playing Beethoven’s Op. 9 string trios. They tear into these with a bite and an incisiveness that’s really exciting – this is lean mean string trio playing!

Back to work now.

6 thoughts on “Things that are better than reading seventeenth-century pamphlets about altar rails, #8994559321: Beethoven’s Op. 9 string trios

  1. Thanks for the tip on the SWR broadcasts. What a treasure trove! I see recitals by Frau Roeschmann and Kasarova there, too. (yay!)

    Speaking of Kasarova, I splurged on the Mozart22 set of DVDs, since it was not much more expensive than buying the (apparently out of print) DVD of Clemenza di Tito by itself, plus I wanted that Figaro. I also had planned to get the Guth Cosi and DG, and was so proud of myself for saving a bundle on opera DVDs. Imagine my surprise when I opened the box, and there they weren’t! (i somehow failed to notice that Guth didn’t do Cosi and DG till later;)

    However, Mitridate has some wonderful music (if you can make it past the bugeyed “Mozarts” in the overture) and amazing (Miah Persson, Richard Croft, and Bejun Mehta to name a few) singers. And, I am looking forward to watching La Finta Giardiniera this weekend (Love, love, loved Doris Doerrie’s Cosi.)

    In the meantime, I am preparing myself for pleasant dreams by listening to those Beethoven trios and thinking(for some reason) about 17th century altar rails.

    Peace!

    Like

    1. It’s funny, I was just thinking about Mitridate this afternoon! I’ve only heard parts of it before (there’s a lovely “gia dagli occhi il velo e tolto” on one of Kasarova’s recital CDs) but I had enough fun with La Finta Giardiniera that I figured more early Mozart might be the thing. Unfortunately my library doesn’t have the Salzburg version – but I may just end up buying that.

      Doris Dörrie’s Cosi – yes! That’s the 70s one with Röschmann as Fiordiligi, right? I thoroughly enjoyed that one.

      Don’t think about altar railings: I can tell you, it’s not worth it (I’m reading through a lot of Puritan controversial literature from the 1630s, and — well, those guys knew how to argue at mind-numbing length about lots and lots of things)

      Like

      1. Puritan and controversial. Two words I never expect to see in the same sentence. Yes, that’s the Cosi! Even my 89 year old Dad is into that Cosi. He also really enjoyed the Salzburg Traviata with Nebtrenko.

        Years ago, Dad sang in the amateur opera society including productions of Nozze, Carmen, Traviata, and Bartered Bride (I bought the new BB package for his birthday and its taking all my self control to not open it and watch it first!!) He as really been enjoying his opera DVDs.

        ANYway, Dad became fascinated by the Salzburg Traviata. Prior to the Met broadcast (which he had to miss, and I am glad I missed it too, after listening on the radio and hearing poor Natalie mangle Sempre Libera) he loaned his (my) DVD to friends and tried to explain the production’s concept to them.

        They mostly just don’t get it and just wondered why the sets and costumes were so cheap. (one friend said, “Oh, they probably had such minimal sets, since they had to put in the sets for another opera that evening.” Dad just gave up, nodded, and smiled.

        Like

        1. You can’t explain abstract staging to some people 🙂

          I liked that version of Traviata too – Netrebko is really in her element there, and she sounded wonderful.

          Like

Leave a comment

