Weekend 6-23-12

Finally done with all those damn books. At least, all the damn books in my office. Now, for all the damn books in my house. Among the books now in my house are the scores to Così fan tutte, Le Nozze di Figaro, Die Zauberflöte and Don Carlos – I intend to have some fun with those when I get a chance. Specifically, I keep meaning to watch that Claus Guth version of Così over again. On the other hand, there is a version of Der Fliegende Holländer on my table right now, directed by Kusej, with Catherine Naglestad as Senta, that I remember seeing good reviews for when it first came out and I kind of want to watch that one first.

Next. I joked once about making ‘scherza infida’ into a ringtone. I have found out how to do this. And I have done it. (Here’s how. It’s not ‘scherza infida’ specific, either! The instructions work with all audio files!)

Also, I have been listening to this which has caused me to hear new things in Berlioz’s Nuits d’Ete. (Did did you know that Nicholas McGegan once looked young(ish)? The booklet provides documentary evidence of this surprising fact.) In addition, I’ve been really enjoying this recording of Mozart’s string quartets.

Finally, by request, photos from Russia.

2 thoughts on “Weekend 6-23-12

  1. to rasputin drums! i off to see pix!! (good luck with them books, i stop buying after 3 moves east-west. also, now that you have instruction for ringtone, may be i’ll use my phone more!)

    Like

Leave a comment

