Weekend 8-26-12

I’ve had Gluck’s “che farò senza Euridice” in my head since I woke up this morning. I have no idea why, given that the last thing I listened to, yesterday afternoon, was Verdi. It made me think of the first time I heard the aria, which as far as I know was on one of Magdalena Kožená’s recital CDs, over ten years ago. (I just checked – it’s the one called Le belle immagine and I think it’s got a picture on the booklet of her on a raft on some river. Recital CDs: they’re odd sometimes, aren’t they, as far as the packaging goes. It often just seems silly to me, but I’m sure it’s all carefully thought out and all that.) It made me think that I should go through my CD collection and listen to the all the ones, like that one, that I had either gotten sick of, or forgotten about, or lost interest in.

4 thoughts on “Weekend 8-26-12

  1. In one of Doris Lessing’s novels, she has her character realize that the phrase of music cycling in her head is a comment on something about her present state or circumstance. I’ve often found it so.

    Like

  2. I just watched my son pound (is that the right word? I mean beat them up to make them tender) the dinner steaks with the side of a knife and found myself singing “If I had a hammer” …

    Like

Leave a comment

