Tenors in Unexpected Places

I was looking for a reference for a student the other day when I ran across this:

Screen Shot 2013-03-05 at 3.17.25 PM

This is the first page of a book review from quite a few years ago. It is indeed that Ian Bostridge, who earned a D.Phil from Oxford in history before switching to singing. Must be nice to sing at the ROH and Carnegie Hall and get your book reviewed next to Stuart Clark’s! (I confess that despite starting out my career as a historian of Tudor-Stuart England, I have not read Mr. Bostridge’s book. I strongly recommend Clark’s Thinking with Demons, though.)

3 thoughts on “Tenors in Unexpected Places

      1. I wonder if he ever had a parental conversation like “It’s okay, Dad, if I can’t make a living in the social history of witchcraft in early modern England thing, I can always go sing opera.”

        Like

Leave a comment

