Happy tax day, my fellow Americans!

I hope everyone who has not done so already has fun filling out the forms and doing the arithmetic. I know I did. I also know that I am getting $169 back from the state, which I intend to spend irresponsibly on opera DVDs and Neil Gaiman novels put in the bank.

I also watched most of the Peter Sellars production of Cosí fan tutte yesterday – it’s the version that’s set in a diner. I am still working out what I think, but I am not sure that it is one of Sellars’s greatest artistic triumphs. Plus, the woman singing the role of Dorabella has this bizarre occasional resemblance to Michele Bachmann (R-Minnesota), which I found alarming on multiple levels at once. (But this is hardly Sellars’s fault.)

2 thoughts on “Happy tax day, my fellow Americans!

Leave a comment

