Not necessarily what you would call a high quality critical opinion, though.

I spent last night enjoying this:

20130530-214705.jpg

The main draw of it was the voice of Nina Stemme. But I do like the orchestral music, too, both the overture to The Flying Dutchman (both versions!) and the prelude from The Meistersingers. Although I admit, in the latter case, part of the appeal is that I can hear this orchestral excerpt and then stop without any sense of an obligation to sit through the rest of the opera. (I’ve tried, with the Meistersingers. I really have. The first time, I got to the part where the apprentices are singing and leaping about or whatever it is they do and I thought “you’ve got to be fucking kidding me” and I stopped. The second time, I got to the singing contest and I thought “you’ve got to be fucking kidding me” and I stopped. I aspire, some day, to get to the end of it, at which point thinking “you’ve got to be fucking kidding me” and stopping ceases to be evidence of personal failure and turns into a critical opinion.)

17 thoughts on “Not necessarily what you would call a high quality critical opinion, though.

    1. Yes, this is Wagner’s idea of humor. The camp approach is something that I need to try: other vice I find Meistersinger not very entertaining…

      Like

      1. I think even with the camp approach it might still not work for me! There’s something about that opera that just rubs me the wrong way even if I try to stay lighthearted about it.

        Like

        1. How about Katharina Wagner’s 2008 Bayreuth production, then? The cast is highly mediocre, of course, and it’s trying too hard to be different, but (what I’ve seen of it on YT) is a very brutal deconstruction of Wagner’s libretto.

          Like

          1. That one is definitely campy! I like the Zurich one with Jose van Dam as Sachs and Michael Volle as Beckmesser.

            Like

            1. lol think we have different definitions of campy then. Agree, though, the Zürich one is infinitely better musicallicly. The staging I found a bit uninspired, though sound. Both productions can be found on youtube, I believe,

              Like

Leave a comment

