Weekend 6-1-12

Well, we sure had some fun today! Where I live we don’t put our power lines underground. I guess having to fix outages breaks the monotony of rural life? Either that, or everyone’s afraid that underground power lines might fluoridate the water or something. Either way, every time there is a storm a tree falls or a branch breaks and the power goes out for a while. My sense is that this state of affairs evolved as a sort of visceral philosophical response to that famous question about if a tree falls in the forest and no one is around to hear it, does it make a sound. We don’t go much for that Zen shit around here, and have discovered that the way to explode that particular question is to arrange things such that every time a tree falls in the woods, even if no one is around to hear it, the electricity still goes out. That way you know. We’re still working on the one hand clapping, though.

I would not normally get too disgruntled about the lack of lights in the middle of the day, but my water comes from a well, and when the power goes out, the well pump goes out, so there’s no water. I have a few gallon jugs of water for emergencies, but on the whole I’d really rather the electricity remained on. I am perverse in this way.

There was a storm this morning, and thus preternatural darkness for a few hours, both indoors and out. When they got the electricity working again I filled up a big bucket just in case, and commenced charging all my devices, also just in case, meanwhile thinking that my head hurt a bit because I hadn’t had my coffee, because my stove is electric . . . and then the lights flickered.

I have never made coffee with such alacrity in my life. I am now drinking the coffee, listening to Hadyn’s Op. 20 string quartets, and anticipating the Kusej production of Don Giovanni. (In the sense of looking forward to it. There are no bright lights or tied-up people in my house.)

6 thoughts on “Weekend 6-1-12

  1. It should be written into building codes everywhere that all residential units are required to have large bathtubs.

    Like

  2. water from well, electric poles knocked down by storms, this all sounds like the post-war poor communist vietnam i grew up in! at least you don’t carry your water on shoulder back home from the well? in place of pump you could try the manual vietnamese way involving a big rope tied up at surface to a bucket which you dropped down to pull water up? think i mentioned somewhere before too that way back then, whenever we had a big thunderstorm with lighting, the whole electric post would just explode spectacularly and long stretch of streets would be out of electricity for about a month… at least here in the US response time is faster 🙂

    Like

    1. Response time is definitely faster – and the power company even has a little map on their website so you can see where the power is out (and can guess where the repair crews are). As problems go, in the grand scheme of things, power outages around here are pretty small potatoes.

      I do have a rope and bucket in my house – not sure that the well is designed in such a way that I could use them, though!

      Like

      1. ah, you mean the well is not open space in public and people are not just standing right there pulling up water taking a bath? :-). some childhood images of well scene always stick in head… oh ja, washing dishes and clothes at the well too.

        Like

Leave a comment

