I know that I shall never see / a poem lovely as an exploding tree

Given that it’s the evening of July 4 and I live in the United States, going to bed early isn’t really an option, what with the rockets’ red glare and things bursting in air and all that. So, in the spirit of that great American pastime of blowin’ shit up . . .

One of my favorite Handel arias, performed by Paula Rasmussen, in which Xerxes detonates a tree.

(Not all productions of Serse involve the tree exploding, obviously. But it’s a nice touch.)

7 thoughts on “I know that I shall never see / a poem lovely as an exploding tree

Leave a comment

