Kätzchen, Kätzchen, Kätzchen tot . . .

Nature is sometimes more fun in oratorio form than it is in real life, isn’t it? Having enjoyed Haydn’s Die Jahreszeiten the other day, I came home after being away for a week to find a spider in my sink the size of a silver dollar and a dead cat in my back yard.

The spider has been dispatched, but I am still thinking about what to do about the cat. If I had a shovel and an industrial-strength garbage bag, I’d hold my breath, put on the work boots and the cat would go into the bag and out for the trash collectors, which I am not is sure is entirely legal – there’s probably a ‘no carcass’ proviso in the municipal trash collection rules – but it’s not as if anyone’s going to look in the bag. (Or I guess I could bury it? But that would still require a shovel.)

I am leaning toward doing nothing and hoping it goes away. I don’t really use the back yard much anyway, and the cat is positioned such that I can’t see it from any of the windows unless I lean out.

To that end, I have been amusing myself listening to Renée Fleming singing Schubert songs. (It’s an album entitled simply Schubert Lieder, with Christoph Eschenbach on the piano; it was recorded in 1997.) The last time I listened to most of these it was via much older recordings by Elisabeth Schwarzkopf. In some cases, e.g. “Heidenröslein”, I prefer Schwarzkopf’s interpretation, which for that particular song is a little more mellow and restrained – but Fleming is not to be missed either. I haven’t listened to the whole recording yet, but I have a feeling there will be more to say about this.

12 thoughts on “Kätzchen, Kätzchen, Kätzchen tot . . .

  1. You are so bent. 🙂 I didn’t get the headline till I sang it. It would be interesting to continue the song with cat lyrics. This reminds me of Mahler’s lost Katzentotenlieder. I also found a recording of Andrew Lloyd Webber’s Katzen (really!) but that’s for another discussion.

    Like

    1. . . . Kätzchen auf dem Rasen.

      I’m glad someone got it – it occurred to me later that the post title might be one of those things that operates coherently only on the inside of my head.

      Andrew Lloyd Webber in German? For real?

      Like

          1. Well, yes, but it actually sounds more operatic in German. It probably helps to not understand the lyrics as well…

            Like

            1. My first exposure to Lloyd Webber was Das Phanton Der Oper in Vienna. It was great! Later I have seen it in English as well with less impact…

              Like

            1. Well, there goes my lunch hour tomorrow! (I do not doubt that the rest is on YouTube somewhere . . .)

              (Did I ever mention that when I was very young like in the late 80s or early 90s or so I went through a phase of being obsessed with Andrew Lloyd Weber musicals? I can still recite bits of the text to Cats verbatim.)

              Like

              1. I am listening to Christian Gerhaher singing the Abendstern aria Tannhauser (from his Romantische Arien disc) to cleanse my palate (with a Peter Mattei chaser). If you cannot find the ALW auf Deutch on YT, email me and I can make some arrangement to get it to you.

                I had a roommate who fixated on Cats, till I was ready to toss the (LPs!!) out the window. “Are you bored when you’re blind?”

                Like

                1. My freshman year roommate in college was obsessed with ‘Rent.’ It was 1998, so it was a matter of CDs rather than LPs, but I had that same KILL IT NOW impulse to go and drop the discs out the window. Unfortunately, I think CDs, being plastic, would have survived . . .

                  Like

                2. I managed to miss the Rent fad — except for seasons of loooooooooooooooooooove…
                  Meanwhile, when I typed Deutsch up there a few posts back, I thought it looked funny. This morning I finally realized why.

                  Like

Leave a comment

