Time to quit for the evening.

There is a part in Hugo Wolf’s song “Der Feuerreiter” / “The fire rider” where the singer is singing “hinterm Berg! hinterm Berg!” / “behind the hill! behind the hill!” in such a way as to express dismay, agitation and fear. Unfortunately, what I hear is “Hindenburg! Hindenburg!” which – although it does make a certain kind of sense given that we are talking about things being on fire – if taken literally might distort somewhat one’s mental image of what is going on in the song.

8 thoughts on “Time to quit for the evening.

  1. I don’t have anything witty, clever, glib, or intelligent to add to this, except:
    1. I do run into this sort of thing myself
    2. When you blog about this sort of thing it always makes me giggle. And that’s a good thing.

    Like

    1. I’m with Rob, especially his second point. One of the pleasures of reading your blog is your sense of fun. That and the opera stuff you mention from time to time 😉

      Like

      1. On the subject of creative hearing (or mis-hearing), is it just me or does everyone giggle childishly at the beginning of verse 2 of the Inflammatus in Pergolesi’s Stabat Mater? Every time? I have managed to reduce the giggle to a smile but no further than that, I’m ashamed to say. I have the Biondi/Daniels/Röschmann version, btw.

        Like

        1. I haven’t listened to that recording in such a long time that I’ve forgotten whether I heard it that way or not! But based on a glance at the text I see what you mean. (I have the same recording – unsurprising, of course.)

          Like

            1. Actually, I shouldn’t be so flippant. There is no question but that both DR and DD are entirely sincere in their presentation of the text and its meaning (which is significant). It is, I think, a lovely performance. The creative mis-hearing for me comes from the incongruity between the general musical context and what I know the text to be about and what my puerile mind automatically thinks it is hearing based on sound alone. I hope to get over this one day but so far – no.

              Like

              1. Nothing wrong with being flippant, as far as I’m concerned – I think it’s perfectly possible to take a piece of music seriously and laugh at the odd things one’s brain does at the same time.

                Like

Leave a comment

