On the whole, I think I prefer the ones where I get to go to recitals.

I fell asleep listening to Anna Netrebko’s Sempre Libera recording from a few years ago (it’s bits of Verdi, Donizetti and Bellini). And I had a dream involving being alone in a parking lot at night; something about grated Parmesan; and then a man in a swamp being crushed to death by a mechanically stamping brontosaurus. There were several of them. I could see only the legs, particularly the stamping one, which went straight up and down like a piston, but I knew what they were – the man got sucked under one of the feet, and then there was blood in the swamp. Ugh. (I think it may be a result of having seen Jurassic Park too many times at an impressionable age, but whenever I get worried about something or am in general on edge, I have alarming dreams involving dinosaurs.)

I have had dreams before that involved opera, some of them fairly surreal, but I don’t think this was one of them. If it is, that’s some serious high brow conceptual shit, right there.

5 thoughts on “On the whole, I think I prefer the ones where I get to go to recitals.

Leave a comment

