Apparently there are not actually that many Finnish films involving a convertible with a broken top, an ex-con and “Somewhere over the rainbow”

I was looking for this movie that I remembered seeing in college (Scandinavian culture course! It was pretty awesome) and thanks to the internet I found it within about 45 seconds. It’s called Ariel, directed by Aki Kaurismaki.

Yeah, it’s Sunday evening and I could be working. BUT I’M NOT.

One thought on “Apparently there are not actually that many Finnish films involving a convertible with a broken top, an ex-con and “Somewhere over the rainbow”

  1. There are Finnish films with ex-cons (a lot) and convertibles (some), but I guess that it is the song that makes this unique 🙂 I still find hard to believe (even if it has been proved many times) that Kaurismäki movies are popular abroad; storytelling, environment and characters are so “Finnish” (lack of dialog, lack of emotional expression etc), that it is hard to imagine that they have appeal abroad. But I am glad they do!

    Like

Leave a comment

