Wednesday Handwriting Analysis

So I got a used recording of Dvořák’s Rusalka that turns out to have some writing in it. A deep discussion with a friend and much googling for pictures of Renée Fleming’s autograph followed. I was initially skeptical because I couldn’t find the accent mark over the e, but it was pointed out to me that it’s half hidden in the word above it. I remain skeptical, though, partly due to my ambivalence about autographs. On the one hand, why is it important that someone signs a booklet, or a concert program? On the other, in certain cases if I had the opportunity to ask and could be assured that I would not say something really embarrassingly stupid in the process, there would totally be some framed concert programs on my wall.

IMG_0453.JPG

4 thoughts on “Wednesday Handwriting Analysis

  1. Hm, I don’t know how people come up with anything interesting to ask during these meet and greets with stars. I once had a very chummy convo in a pub with comedian Lee Evans but I had no idea who he was until my in-laws later informed me.

    (is that your foot?)

    Like

    1. I was doing the same thing. I got it used via Amazon – can’t imagine the seller had even looked at the booklet or they probably would have charged more for it. Maybe somebody died and all their CDs went to Goodwill, there to be scrounged and resold. Or a former opera fan had a massive turning point in their life that made them realize that after all they never liked opera – or Dvořak – or Renée Fleming or some combination thereof. Or possibly a revenge plot: A breaks B’s heart; B goes and sells all of A’s prized opera memorabilia?

      Like

Leave a comment

