If I ever went back to Japan and became involved in some kind of piano emergency, I might be somewat prepared

It has been pointed out to me that my CD collection cannot continue to expand indefinitely, so I have been trying to put myself on a sort of reduced acquisition plan. (You know how sometimes a CD cabinet will say it can hold 612 discs? And then you forget that half of yours are actually 2 or 3 disc sets that take up more room? And you end up with overflow? Yeah.)  I intend to buy only three recordings for the rest of the year. We will see how this goes. The plan has already met with some skepticism.

On the other hand, it’s kind of good because there are things currently in the collection that I haven’t listened to in literally years, such as this:

It’s from a set of Wanda Landowska’s recordings of Mozart piano sonatas. It’s one of those things that I bought for reasons I can’t recall now (I think it was because I have a Bach recording of hers that I like) but every time I hear it I wonder why I don’t listen to it more often. (Also, it’s one of those CDs of mine that pop up in Haruki Murakami’s novels, along with a Brian Asawa Scarlatti cantata CD and one or two others – oddly enough, this Landowska CD is an import from Japan; the liner notes are entirely in Japanese. Which brings my Japanese competency to three items 1. hello 2. thanks 3. if I studied a bit, I bet I could recognize the characters for “piano” in an emergency.)

4 thoughts on “If I ever went back to Japan and became involved in some kind of piano emergency, I might be somewat prepared

  1. From my land of random: the one thing I can immediately spot if written in Cyrillic script is “Sesto”. I’m not able to do that with Japanese characters yet though when popped into the CD tray, the Mackerras Tito from the Library had all the titles in Japanese (it wasn’t a Japanese import) so maybe I need to get it again just for that reason…

    Like

    1. I’ve encountered that too, Japanese titles on non-imports – maybe if the first person to upload the info is in Japan, that’s what sticks? In general, I like messing around with the subtitles too on things I know well – like watching Italian operas with German titles. That way I can tell myself I’m not relaxing, I’m studying 🙂

      Like

  2. You could try the “one in, one out” rule that we (and by we, I mean my other half) instituted a few years ago. This rule applied [note the use of past tense] to books and DVDs in addition to CDs. It didn’t work for me either. After moving several times in the last two years, I still own 4 bankers boxes full of opera (and other classical) DVDs. I did start ripping some CDs onto my computer so I could thin the physical herd. That only got so far, too. I guess for us collector types there just can never be too many books, CDs and DVDs. Time to find a bigger place to live!

    Like

    1. I’ve tried one in-one out – I can never find anything I want to turn loose of! We had this agreement where whenever I bought more books or CDs, I was supposed to make a pie, so that the work of making pastry would deter me from purchases, but that didn’t work out either, mostly due to laziness on my part. The solution was just to buy more CD storage; I have this foldy cabinet now that can hold 612 CDs in a relatively small area – and there’s still some space in that.

      Like

Leave a comment

