I wonder if I’ll have to fake a New York accent…

2015-09-28 15.55.17This is a picture of the main auditorium of Carnegie Hall in the middle of a Monday afternoon. (Never mind the part of my thumb visible to the bottom left; that part of the image is not important.) I was there because I decided that it would be interesting to volunteer as a tour guide, and the new volunteers were being taken through the tour route, as prelude to further training. Unlike at Lincoln Center, you don’t have to pay (!) to be a volunteer at Carnegie Hall, so I’m out only subway fare and time. And one has been told that one occasionally might score some free tickets.

We will see how this goes. I have a lot of experience vis-a-vis conveying certain specific points of information in an entertaining way in less than an hour to people with varying levels of interest, but it’s been a long time since I’ve worn a name badge.

10 thoughts on “I wonder if I’ll have to fake a New York accent…

    1. You have to be on at least the lowest tier donor level, which is I think about $100/year. Not a lot in the grand scheme of things, but it certainly gives the impression of an unpleasant kind of gatekeeping

      Like

Leave a comment

